Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Comment ça marche...
Comment ça marche...
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Comment ça marche...
1 mai 2009

May Day

So today's 1st May,  La Fête du Travail -  which is ironic really, as it's a bank holiday.  This is a historic May Day, though, as it's the first time in many years that all the different unions will be demonstrating together.  Well done Sarko - a united France. 
I'm neither resting nor demonstrating today, I'm at the village Vide-Grenier.  This is the equivalent of a car-boot sale, only the French refer to the activity of emptying your attic to get the things to sell, whereas the British focus on the place of sale.  In France you take it one stage further and remove everything from your boot and put it on a table.  Or a mat.

Pic072
We were lucky with the weather and after the early morning fog swirling round us, it settled into a sunny, if rather breezy, day.  We're now into the season for Vide-Greniers so there's at least one every weekend, usually more.  I suspect there were others today, as we didn't see a lot of customers.  I resisted the temptation to spend more than I earned (unlike one I did at Christmas!) and didn't do too badly.  Tall Son got a great deal on an electric guitar and amplifier, plus a pair of All Star Converse shoes.  All good for the High School Musical/Camp Rock/Hannah Montana thing he's got going at the moment.  Small Son got a small, but real, guitar for €1.50 and I got the coffee spoons and pastry forks I've been looking for - all for only €3.  Bargains!  I narrowly missed out on the Laguiole cheese service - but it went to a friend, so I didn't make too much of a fuss........she did help me set up my stall, after all!

Only a brief walk today - but an energetic one, as it involved a pram and an excited child wanting it pushed at maximum speed.  We encountered the usual suspects and admired the flowers.  Small Son was most impressed by the rather large, squashed lizard we came across.
Pic063


Our garden has a nightingale at the moment, which arrived bang on time for Beltaine.  It's fantastic hearing it sing at night and it's warm enough to keep the window open to hear it properly.  Who could ask for more?

My contributions to May Day have been these little decorated glasses to put the lily of the valley in.  I only have one struggling plant in the garden, but my friend kindly brought me some of hers and we worked on the design for the glasses together.

Pic075

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité